

Joint COVID-19 Vaccine Safety Review Committee

The Joint COVID-19 Vaccine Safety Review Committee is an eleven-member independent committee of experts formed to act as a forum of advice to the Food and Drugs Authority on matters relating the post-approval safety monitoring for COVID-19 vaccines and review of all safety information from the deployment of these vaccines.

Mandate

The responsibilities of the Joint COVID-19 Vaccine Safety Review Committee include the following:

- 1. Advice the Authority on the post-approval safety monitoring system for COVID-19 vaccines.
- 2. Review safety information received for COVID-19 vaccines issued with Emergency Use Authorization.
- 3. Make recommendations to the Authority regarding the continued use of a COVID-19 vaccine(s) based on safety issues reviewed.

Membership

The Joint COVID-19 Vaccine Safety Review Committee has two types of members; core and co-opted members.

The Core and Co-opted members are appointed as individuals on the basis of their expertise and do not represent their firms, organizations or associations directly.

The list of members of the Committee and their expertise is provided below.

No.	Name	Expertise
1	Prof. John Gyapong	Epidemiologist
2	Prof. Francis Ofei	Endocrinologist
3	Dr. Kenneth Tachi	Gastroenterologist
4	Dr. Kwadwo Odei Antwi-Agyei	Immunization Specialist
5	Prof. Yao Tettey	Pathologist
6	Dr. Daniel Ankrah	Clinical Pharmacist
7	Dr. Henry Lawson	Family Medicine Specialist (Geriatrician)

8	Dr. Harold Ayetey	Cardiologist
9	Dr. Audrey Forson	Pulmonologist
10	Prof. Alex Dodoo	Pharmacovigilance and Vaccine Safety Expert
11	Dr. Kwame Amponsa-Achiano	Co-Opted Member
		Programme Manager, Expanded Programme on
		Immunization